793 Miles Worth of Music

The journey begins… @bonnaroo #bonnaroo #bonnaroobingo2014 #readytoroo #radiatepositivity

A post shared by Tyler Lauletta (@thisbytyler) on

Around 12:30pm, I left West Chester, Pennsylvania with Alex, Laura, and Sheldon en route to Bonnaroo. I was planning on driving down alone, but a friend of mine just threw up the Bat Signal looking for a ride, and after a few exchanged phone calls and one pre-Roo meeting, we had a full car riding south. Part of the beauty of not making specific plans is that when the universe throws a curveball you can take a home run swing at it.

Before we departed, I spent some time bothering bands and comedians that I had included on my #BonnarooBingo2014 cards on Twitter, hoping to catch their attention. This resulted in one resounding success.

THE AVETT BROTHERS FAVORITED #bonnaroobingo2014 #blessed #readytoroo

A post shared by Tyler Lauletta (@thisbytyler) on

And then we started driving. Cruising in my throwback Lincoln Mercury, we had a lot of time to kill. We listened to a lot of music, keeping it to full albums because why the hell not. We would be driving through five states. No need to pick track by track.

So here’s this, just in case anyone has a super long drive coming up.

  • College Dropout by Kanye West
  • Late Registration by Kanye West
  • Bones of What You Believe by CHVRCHES
  • Yeezus by Kanye West
  • Beyonce by Beyonce
  • My Name Is My Name by Pusha T
  • My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy by Kanye West
  • Channel Orange by Frank Ocean
  • Random Access Memories by Daft Punk
  • Passive Me, Aggressive You by The Naked and Famous
  • The Blueprint by Jay Z
  • Drink the Sea Part 2: The Mixtape by The Glitch Mob
  • Graduation (mostly in reverse) by Kanye West
  • Long. Live. A$AP. by A$AP Rocky
  • “3005” by CHlidish Gambino
  • “Chain Heavy” by Kanye West

And then we got here. After twelve hours of driving, two burgers from Wendy’s, and too many cigarettes, we came through the toll booths of security that guarded the Bonnaroo Music and Arts festival. I had promised myself that after my long shift behind the wheel I would immediately drink a celebratory beer. But once we made it to our official campsite, I noticed that the Bonnroovians setting up next to us were struggling to put together their tent.

I knew that “Help Your Neighbour” was on Thursday’s card in the ever-important corner spot, and we were way past midnight.

I don’t know how much I’ll be able to write while I’m here. I’m going to do my best to plaster instagram with all the best news. Tomorrow I’m going to explore the mystical “Tent City” that was apparently exists further within the festival grounds. Friday I’m going to try to meet Chance the Rapper.

For now, I’m just going to drink this beer.

Follow along with #BonnarooBingo2014 on Twitter and Instagram if you want to join the festivities. It’s going to be a blast.

Let’s get Ready2Roo.

Home. #bonnaroo #radiatepositivity

A post shared by Tyler Lauletta (@thisbytyler) on

This entry was posted in Kanye West, Life, Music Other Than Kanye West and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 793 Miles Worth of Music

  1. zachdionne says:

    Full albums are always a good call, especially on road trips. Nice list. And great bingo cards. I’m sure it was a blast.

Leave a Reply

