An Open Letter to Andy Reid

Dear Andy,

Thank you for your years of service to a team that I tend to call myself a part of, the Philadelphia Eagles. I know that this may sound insincere, especially with all of the hate and vitriol that I have spit your way over your 14-year term in office, but I really do want to offer you my honest thanks and best wishes towards your time in Kansas City.

I started enjoying the idea of football when I realized my father and grandfather would sometimes watch games together after 9:00 mass and Sunday brunch. I would walk in and ask, “Who’s winning?”

And one of them would reply with either:

“The Good Guys” or “The Bad Guys.”

You were the coach of the good guys.

Since then, I came to have mixed feelings about you as a coach, mostly based around two questions- Were we winning? And Did I think that we should be winning? With this young, clearly incomplete view of sports, four different outlooks on your talent emerged.

We were winning and I thought we should be losing:

“Man, these players are really exceeding their potential. Maybe these                                     players are better than we thought they were.”

We were losing and I thought we should be losing:

“This isn’t the players’ fault. They are set up to fail. Our management isn’t drafting well and our coaches aren’t coaching well and that leaves us with players that make mistakes that keep us from fulfilling our potential.”

We were winning and I thought we should be winning:

“The players are doing their job. We are a dominant force in the league                                     and we will definitely make the playoffs.”

We were losing and I thought we should be winning:

“What the hell Andy.”

“What. The. Hell. Andy.”

“WHAT. THE. HELL. ANDY.”

Obviously this is flawed logic with praise reserved only for players and shame saved for the coaching staff. Despite the fact that my understanding of football has matured to an extent, I still worry that I sometimes revert to this line of thinking when judging the successes and failures of coaches and players. So I’m sorry for that.

The point is, you are the only “Head Coach of My Favorite NFL Team” that I have known so far, and at no point during that span did I feel that the Eagles were irrelevant. When we were bad, we made the news because of the city’s loud complaints about your work. When we were good, there was a point that I believed we could beat anyone in the league; that we were Super Bowl bound. At one point it was really us and the Patriots, and everyone else felt a step behind. You made hard, sometimes unpopular, sometimes good, sometimes bad decisions, but all of that has helped to keep the Eagles in the A-Block of SportsCenter for the past decade. We were always a story, and that matters.

I hope that you have similar success in Kansas City. The last time I remember them being a story, it was because of a guy named Priest Holmes, and I don’t even recall that that well. I would be willing to bet that the Arrowhead Faithful have been enjoying seeing their team analyzed and debated on PTI and Around the Horn since your signing. I don’t know how many wins you’ll get as the Chiefs Head Coach. I don’t really think you’ll even approach a Super Bowl. But I have faith that you will keep them interesting, and I think that counts for more than people realize.

With Best Regards,

Tyler Lauletta

PS: Thanks for not going to the Cowboys. That just would’ve been awful.

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Open Letter to Andy Reid

  1. LJL says:

    Andy Reed knows what Teddy Roosevelt was talking about when he said –
    It is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face is marred by the dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error or shortcoming; who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions and spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who, at worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly; so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory or defeat.
    Theodore Roosevelt
    Citizenship in a Republic — a speech at the Sorbonne, Paris, France, 1910-04-23)

  2. Pingback: The Hypothetical SuperContest – Week 1 | Tuesdays With Horry

Leave a Reply

